Castle: 5.04 “Murder, He Wrote” Review

So… Castle and Beckett finally made it to the Hamptons. It is a known fact that the fans had been eagerly awaiting this storyline since the end of season 2, when Castle first asked the detective to go to his beach house for the weekend. The expectation around this episode was sky high because, well… we had been waiting for this for the past two years.

And maybe that was why it didn’t quite work for me.

I know this is most likely an unpopular opinion and I’m in the minority here. A romantic weekend in the Hamptons is probably every Caskett shipper dreams come true – and I did like the nod to the shippers in that scene – but there was something about it that didn’t feel right to me. Maybe it was the editing – most of the episode felt really choppy, like the scenes weren’t put together all that well – or the writing too, because those interruptions were getting downright annoying, but “Murder, He Wrote” just didn’t flow right like other episodes. Whatever it was, it made the episode that I had been so looking forward to fall a little flat to me.

I didn’t really care for the case, but that is not something I usually focus on when watching this show. This time, however, the case was interfering directly in the characters’ lives to the point that I was rolling my eyes when they introduced yet another suspect that just got in the way of their weekend.

Also, back in New York, I still can’t get over the fact that Ryan and Esposito really did not have a clue that Castle was Beckett’s mysterious boyfriend. Do they really want us to believe that those two didn’t notice anything going on between them and would be so insensitive as to mention Beckett’s “new boyfriend” in front of Castle after our dynamic duo spent a good portion of season 4 practically attached at the hip and making goo goo eyes at each other? It just doesn’t make any sense.

However, not all was bad in “Murder, He Wrote”. There were a few moments that were really great, like that scene when she asks about the other women he had taken to his beach house. I love that she feels comfortable enough with him now to ask those kinds of questions and be vulnerable around him. His answer was awesome and I wanted to pat him in the back in congratulations. I also really liked that first precinct scene and how Kate is counting down the seconds to get out of there to start her weekend with him and I absolutely adored the last scene.

I loved that Ryan was the first to find out about them at the precinct and that he chose to keep it to himself. I also think Lanie is onto something and she definitely suspects that there is stuff going on between Castle and Beckett, which was why she was so dodgy when the boys were harassing her for information on Beckett’s secret boyfriend.

Bottom line is there were some cute moments that probably made the shippers very happy, but that’s all they were, really. The episode as a whole was lacking that spark that is so characteristic of a classic Castle episode.

“Murder, He Wrote” had the potential to be amazing, but it didn’t live up to it.  It was just okay.

B-

53 Comments

  1. Kate October 15, 2012
  2. Linda October 15, 2012
  3. Sarah October 15, 2012
  4. lizzie October 16, 2012
  5. MM October 16, 2012
    • Luciana Mangas October 16, 2012
  6. Sandy October 16, 2012
  7. Richard October 16, 2012
    • Flick October 16, 2012
    • lame October 16, 2012
      • lame October 16, 2012
        • lame October 16, 2012
          • Flick October 17, 2012
  8. Melody October 16, 2012
  9. mco October 16, 2012
    • Lydia October 18, 2012
  10. Lisa October 16, 2012
  11. saveCastle October 16, 2012
    • Jessie October 16, 2012
      • The Nanny October 16, 2012
        • lame October 17, 2012
        • grey October 17, 2012
          • lame October 17, 2012
          • saveCastle October 18, 2012
  12. Emily October 16, 2012
    • Luciana Mangas October 16, 2012
      • lame October 16, 2012
        • Luciana Mangas October 16, 2012
  13. Grace October 16, 2012
  14. Viv October 16, 2012
    • Carrie October 17, 2012
  15. Bren October 16, 2012
  16. mj9000jeanne October 16, 2012
  17. europa October 16, 2012
  18. grey October 16, 2012
    • lame October 17, 2012
      • grey October 17, 2012
  19. Carole October 17, 2012
    • grey October 17, 2012
  20. SJ October 17, 2012
    • lame October 18, 2012
  21. mj9000jeanne October 18, 2012
  22. José October 18, 2012
  23. t October 18, 2012
    • t October 18, 2012
      • Carrie October 22, 2012
    • lame October 19, 2012
      • t October 19, 2012
        • lame October 19, 2012
      • t October 19, 2012
      • t October 19, 2012
        • mj9000jeanne October 19, 2012
        • lame October 19, 2012

Leave a Reply

CONVICTION - ABC's "Conviction" stars Hayley Atwell as Hayes Morrison. (ABC/Bob D'Amico)
ABC’s Conviction: Monday Nights at 10 Will Still Begin With “C”
Bones-ep1106_sc15_0069_hires1-1200x800
Bones’ 12th and Final Season Pushed Back to 2017 by FOX
watch sports on tv
Watch These Sporting Events for Free with an Antenna
Supergirl - The CW Fall Schedule
The CW Fall Schedule: Supergirl Stays on Mondays, The 100, iZombie & The Originals Held to Midseason
Arrow
Amell Cousins Film Funding Campaign Closing in on $1.5M
denzel
Famous Celebrities Back in the Day
wrestler-rourke-fl
Seven Celebrity Comebacks That Should Motivate You To Try Harder
cSqXgzr
That Time Harry Potter and Neville Longbottom went to a WWE Match
Star Trek: Beyond - The Enterprise
J.J. Abrams Owns The Universe: Get Ready for Star Trek: Beyond
Beauty and the Beast
Beauty and the Beast Teaser Trailer: Get Your First Look at Emma Watson as Belle
The Angry Birds Movie
Angry Birds: From Tablets and Smartphones to the Silver Screen
Raza Jaffrey and Stana Katic in The Rendevous
Stana Katic & Raza Jaffrey Are Ready For “The Rendezvous”
bruce-springsteen-chris-polk-getty-946
Bruce Springsteen Opens with Prince’s “Purple Rain” At Barclay’s Center
spike-jonze-portra_2808683b
10 Awesome Music Videos Directed by the Incomparable Spike Jonze
rolling-stones-concert
The 10 Greatest Rolling Stones Concerts of All-Time
1pbook092nm
Five Awesome Intentionally Funny Music Videos in Movies
150415194757-2015-playoff-graphic-2-041515.1200x672
The Top Five Moments in NBA Playoffs History
2themastes
Your Official Guide to Watching the Masters Tournament on TV
Austin X Games
X Games Austin 2016 Has an Amazing Sports and Music Lineup
nascar_daytona_nationwide_auto_racing_15301727
Seven Incredibly Dangerous Car Accidents in NASCAR History

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.