The 33rd Film Independent Spirit Awards Nominees Have Been Announced

This morning, Film Independent announced the nominations for the 2018 Film Independent Spirit Awards and revealed that director Ava DuVernay will be this year’s Honorary Chair. The Spirit Awards are the primary fundraiser for Film Independent’s year-round programs, which cultivate the careers of emerging filmmakers and promote diversity in the industry. Film Independent President Josh Welsh presided over the press conference held at the Jeremy Hotel in West Hollywood, with actors Lily Collins and Tessa Thompson presenting the nominations. Nominees for Best Feature included Call Me by Your Name, The Florida Project, Get Out, Lady Bird and The Rider.

“This year’s nominations reflect the range and vitality of artist-driven, independent film,” said Film Independent President Josh Welsh. “Diversity, innovation and uniqueness of vision are the hallmarks of the Film Independent Spirit Awards, and the films this year powerfully embody all those qualities.”

“We are so happy to have Ava DuVernay as our Spirit Awards Honorary Chair,” added Welsh, “Ava is a remarkable filmmaker – a writer, director and producer we have celebrated at the Spirit Awards and the LA Film Festival. More than that, she is a leader and a powerful voice for change, in the industry and beyond.”

Mudbound was selected to receive the Robert Altman Award, which is bestowed upon one film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast. The Altman Award was created in 2008 in honor of legendary director Robert Altman who was known for creating extraordinary ensemble casts.

Winners, who are selected by Film Independent Members, will be announced at the Spirit Awards on Saturday, March 3, 2018. The awards ceremony co-hosted by Nick Kroll and John Mulaney will be held on the beach in Santa Monica, just north of the Santa Monica Pier. The show will broadcast live exclusively on IFC at 2:00 pm PT/ 5:00 pm ET. Here is the list of nominees:


  • Call Me By Your Name
  • The Florida Project
  • Get Out
  • Lady Bird
  • The Rider


  • Columbus
  • Ingrid Goes West
  • Menashe
  • Oh Lucy!
  • Patti Cake$


  • Sean Baker – The Florida Project
  • Jonas Capignano – A Ciambra
  • Luca Guadagnino – Call Me By Your Name
  • Jordan Peele – Get Out
  • Benny Safdie and Josh Safdie – Good Time
  • Chloe Zhao – The Rider


  • Timothee Chalamet – Call Me By Your Name
  • Harris Dickinson – Beach Rats
  • James Franco – The Disaster Artist
  • Daniel Kaluuya – Get Out
  • Robert Pattinson – Good Time


  • Salma Hayek – Beatriz at Dinner
  • Frances McDormand – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
  • Margot Robbie – I, Tonya
  • Saoirse Ronan – Lady Bird
  • Shinobu Terajima – Oh Lucy!
  • Regina Williams – Life and nothing more


  • Nnamdi Asomugha – Crown Heights
  • Armie Hammer – Call Me By Your Name
  • Barry Keoghan – The Killing of a Sacred Deer
  • Sam Rockwell – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
  • Benny Safdie – Good Time


  • Holly Hunter – The Big Sick
  • Allison Janney – I, Tonya
  • Laurie Metcalf – Lady Bird
  • Lois Smith – Marjorie Prime
  • Taliah Lennice Webster – Good Time


  • Beatriz at Dinner
  • Get Out
  • Lady Bird
  • The Lovers
  • Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri


  • The Big Sick
  • Columbus
  • Donald Cried
  • Ingrid Goes West
  • Women Who Kill


  • Beach Rats
  • Call Me By Your Name
  • Columbus
  • The Killing of a Sacred Deer
  • The Rider


  • Call Me By Your Name
  • Get Out
  • Good Time
  • I, Tonya
  • The Rider

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD (winner) – Given to one film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast

  • Mudbound


  • The Departure
  • Faces Places
  • Last Men in Aleppo
  • Motherland
  • Quest

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD – Given to the best feature made for under $500,000

  • Dayveon
  • A Ghost Story
  • Life and nothing more
  • Most Beautiful Island
  • The Transfiguration


  • BPM (Beats Per Minute) – France
  • A Fantastic Woman – Chile
  • I Am Not a Witch – Zambia
  • Lady Macbeth – UK
  • Loveless – Russia

BONNIE AWARD – Bonnie Tiburzi Caputo joined American Airlines in 1973 at age 24, becoming the first female pilot to fly for a major U.S. airline. In her honor, the inaugural Bonnie Award will recognize a mid-career female director with a $50,000 unrestricted grant, sponsored by American Airlines.

  • So Yong Kim
  • Lynn Shelton
  • Chloe Zhao

JEEP TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 23rd annual Truer Than Fiction Award, funded by the Jeep brand, is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by the Jeep brand.

  • Shevaun Mizrahi
  • Jonathan Olshefski
  • Jeff Unay

KIEHL’S SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 24th annual Someone to Watch Award, funded by Kiehl’s Since 1851, recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Kiehl’s Since 1851.

  • Amman Abbasi
  • Justin Chon
  • Kevin Phillips

PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD – The 21st annual Producers Award, funded by Piaget, honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, tenacity and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.

  • Giulia Caruso & Ki Jin Kim
  • Ben LeClair
  • Summer Shelton

In addition, Visit Seattle will fund the Seattle Story Award, which is still open for nominations. The winning filmmaker will exhibit innovation, diversity and uniqueness of vision while having a history of transforming perspectives through rich stories. The recipient will receive a $25,000 cash grant to create a short film inspired by Seattle’s independent spirit. This film will premiere during the Spirit Awards broadcast.

Leave a Reply

Why You Should Give HGTV’s “How Close Can I Beach?” A Try
Carpool Karaoke Mother’s Down’s Syndrome Video Goes Viral
Did You Know the Average NFL Game Only Has 11 Minutes of Live Gameplay?
Cagney & Lacey Reboot: Ving Rhames Added to Cast
The Top 20 Steven Spielberg Films of All-Time
“The Disaster Artist” Gag Reel is as Funny As You’d Expect
Recommended Films To Watch After You See “Tomb Raider”
How Steven Spielberg’s Parents Influenced Four of His Movies
The World’s First David Bowie Statue Will Be Unveiled in 7 Days
The Top Uses of The Police’s “Every Breathe You Take” in Movies or TV
Here are Porgs Dancing to the Cantina Band Song
Watch this Fingerstyle Guitar Maestro Cover A-ha’s “Take on Me”
We’re Praying That Floyd Mayweather Fights in the MMA
“The Mountain” Hafthor Bjornsson Wins Arnold Sports Festival Strongman Classic
Tennis Legend Andre Agassi Discusses Partnership With Watch Brand Longines
Is This the Real Reason Babe Ruth Was Never Hired as a Manager?
Three Top Down VR Games You Need in Your Library Right Now
Jurassic World Getting Pokémon Go-Style AR Mobile Game
Monster Hunter: World Is Capcom’s Best Ever Selling Game
North America Takes World Title in Intel’s VR Challenger League and Other News
No, Matt Damon is Not Fleeing to Australia to Escape Trump
Shia LaBeouf Will play his Father in “Honey Boy,” A Movie About Himself
Five Things You Didn’t Know about James Bay
Five Things You Didn’t Know about Jhene Aiko