The League to End After Season 7

The League Ending After Season 7

The League is disbanding. FXX has renewed the fantasy football comedy series for a seventh and final season.

The League originally debuted on FX back in 2009 and moved to FXX for its fifth season in 2013. The series stars Mark Duplass, Stephen Rannazzisi, Nick Kroll, Paul Scheer, Jon Lajoie and Katie Asleton as a group of friends who will do pretty much anything to win their fantasy football league.

And of course, in the style of The League, presidents of original original programming for FX Networks, Nick Grad and Eric Schrier, along with Jeff Schaffer and Jackie Marcu Schaffer, the husband and wife, executive producer duo behind The League, revealed the news about that final season in a very goofy, funny way.

“Our gang can burn a beach house like Calvin Johnson on a secondary but I shudder to think what they’ll do in the final battle for the Shiva,” Grad said when announcing the news. “The real studs here are the fans who have remained so loyal to the show over the years, including the move to FXX, and for them we are going out on top.”

“We are incredibly excited to work with our amazing cast for another season,” Jeff Schaffer said, “especially because I can now announce that I finally won the fantasy football league that we play in with them.”

“Whatever, I’ve won it twice,” Jackie Marcus Schaffer responded, before saying, “Most players in the NFL don’t make it seven seasons, and most TV shows even less so. We want to thank FX Networks and all our Eskimo Brothers and SistersNFL teams would be lucky to have fans as diehard as ours.”

“Spoiler alert,” Jeff Schaffer continued, “we already know how it will all endwith credits and the theme song.”

Season 7 of The League will consist of 13 episodes and kick off in the fall of 2015 on FXX.

Photo via FXX

Add Comment