The Vampire Diaries: L.J. Smith Fired From The Book Series

Most of this week, fans of The Vampire Diaries have been in a tizzy about a rumor circulating about TVD author L.J. Smith being fired from completing the book series that inspired what we have come to love as The Vampire Diaries on The CW. Yesterday, the author confirmed this strange news on her blog, unfortunately, which was first brought to our attention by Vampire Diaries Web and TVDNews.net. Here’s what Smith wrote to fans on her official blog:

“…if you’ve asked me a question about the future books or the endgame of The Vampire Diaries and I’ve been vague about what’s in store, I’d like to take this opportunity to apologize. I really wasn’t looking forward to the day when I would have to talk about this.”

The author continued on to plead with fans to not hold a boycott towards Harper, the publishing company behind the books.

“…I want to ask anyone who was thinking of it, not to boycott Harper’s or anyone. It just doesn’t make sense. Although I wanted and still want more than anything to be able to continue The Vampire Diaries series myself, there’s no point in not trying the new books. (And remember, for fans of Bonnie and Damon, and strict Stefan and Elena fans, the immediate dynamics may be more to your liking.) Besides which, Midnight, which is all mine, is coming out in March, and I believe there may be some of my writing in Phantom.”

Wow…

We know the question most of you are probably asking right now: how can an author be fired from her own book series? According to TVDnews.net, Ms. Smith actually doesn’t own the rights to TVD, Alloy Enterainment does. Smith was hired to write the books back in the early to mid 90s, when they were originally published, and will be replaced by a ghost-writer to complete the series. The reason for the parting of the ways between book company and author? The good old-fashioned monster of creative differences.

SPOILERS FOR THE BOOKS!!!

Turns out that Alloy wants what the fans have called a “Stelena endgame” and not the ending Smith was intending to go with that might have included a “Delena” ending. Could the popularity of the show’s storylines be a factor in Alloy’s decision?

Bottom line, the whole situation is not only sad, but it’s just… odd. L.J. Smith is synonymous with the TVD brand and it was her hard work that made the books what they were today. It will be kind of hard to look forward to later TVD books with another author’s name on them. More on this story as it develops, but until then, what do you guys think?

Thanks again to TVDNews.Net and Vampire Diaries Web!


67 Comments

  1. Lyly Ford February 10, 2011
    • Elena March 21, 2011
      • Hannah April 7, 2011
      • Lauren January 4, 2012
  2. Magster February 10, 2011
  3. angjen0816 February 10, 2011
    • Lyly Ford February 10, 2011
  4. Rivara February 10, 2011
  5. Rivara February 10, 2011
  6. Anonymous February 10, 2011
  7. Anonymous February 11, 2011
    • A BAYLEY March 29, 2011
  8. Monica February 11, 2011
  9. Anonymous February 13, 2011
  10. Anonymous February 12, 2011
  11. Rocio Rodriguez February 14, 2011
  12. Nell79 February 25, 2011
  13. AdiPerk March 1, 2011
  14. Elena March 21, 2011
  15. Apollo March 21, 2011
  16. Apollo March 21, 2011
  17. Michelle March 26, 2011
  18. Christy G March 29, 2011
  19. k s nelson27 April 1, 2011
  20. Jackie April 2, 2011
  21. isabella April 4, 2011
  22. Sandra April 4, 2011
  23. Terri April 5, 2011
  24. Heather April 5, 2011
  25. Ashley April 9, 2011
  26. Ashley April 9, 2011
  27. Amanda April 20, 2011
  28. Crystal May 6, 2011
  29. Crystal May 6, 2011
  30. Jessica May 13, 2011
  31. alexis May 26, 2011
  32. Rina June 3, 2011
  33. Rina June 3, 2011
    • issy :) June 6, 2011
  34. Rina June 3, 2011
  35. issy :) June 6, 2011
  36. issy :) June 6, 2011
  37. Tablekorner July 7, 2011
  38. Tablekorner July 7, 2011
  39. Rina July 7, 2011
  40. Rina July 7, 2011
  41. Rina August 1, 2011
  42. lilly August 2, 2011
  43. Rina August 4, 2011
  44. Moki Hunter August 19, 2011
  45. Pam September 11, 2011
  46. Jennifer September 14, 2011
  47. Rina September 16, 2011
  48. Karen October 15, 2011
  49. Jackiefk October 16, 2011
  50. Amber Ivers October 20, 2011
  51. Amber Ivers October 20, 2011
  52. Miranda November 3, 2011
  53. Natalie November 3, 2011
  54. Kekeo6d November 30, 2011
  55. frost January 10, 2012
  56. delenaluvr January 10, 2012
  57. rainydays :) January 28, 2012
  58. aisha November 3, 2012
  59. Bayley February 5, 2013
  60. HA DUMB February 23, 2013

Add Comment

Watch This Cobra Kai Blooper Reel Just Because
Green Lantern
Five Things We Need in the HBO Max Green Lantern Series
WWE Network
Is The WWE Network Really Going to Make It?
Westworld
What We Learned From the New Westworld Season 3 Trailer
The Real Reason Why Jonah Hill Isn’t in The Batman
Why The Black Adam Movie is So Important
Snyder Cut
Why is Justice League Snyder’s Cut So Important to Everyone?
Jennifer Jason Leigh Fast Times
The Five Best Jennifer Jason Leigh Movies of Her Career
Justin Roiland
10 Things You Didn’t Know about Justin Roiland
Willie Aames
Whatever Happened to Willie Aames?
10 Things You Didn’t Know About Allison Dunbar
Kron Moore
10 Things you Didn’t Know About Kron Moore
The Top Five Darkest Versions Of Your Favorite Superheroes
Kite Man
In Case You Want to Know who Kite Man Is
Power Rangers and Ninja Turtles
The Power Rangers and Ninja Turtles Will Be Teaming Up
Venom Hulk
The Venom Hulk has Arrived and It’s As Awesome as It Sounds
Super Anime
Check Out Mario & Luigi: Super Anime Brothers
Black Fox
What We Know about the Black Fox Anime Feature Film So Far
Golden Kamuy
Why You Should Be Watching Golden Kamuy
The Quintessential Quintuplets
Why You Should be Watching The Quintessential Quintuplets
What if Mario and Sonic Swiped Sidekicks?
Need for Speed
Real Life Recreation of a Need for Speed Game
Galaga
Baby Crocodiles Sound Exactly Like The Arcade Game Galaga
Why They Should Make “The Revenant” Into a Video Game