The Vampire Diaries: L.J. Smith Fired From The Book Series

Most of this week, fans of The Vampire Diaries have been in a tizzy about a rumor circulating about TVD author L.J. Smith being fired from completing the book series that inspired what we have come to love as The Vampire Diaries on The CW. Yesterday, the author confirmed this strange news on her blog, unfortunately, which was first brought to our attention by Vampire Diaries Web and TVDNews.net. Here’s what Smith wrote to fans on her official blog:

“…if you’ve asked me a question about the future books or the endgame of The Vampire Diaries and I’ve been vague about what’s in store, I’d like to take this opportunity to apologize. I really wasn’t looking forward to the day when I would have to talk about this.”

The author continued on to plead with fans to not hold a boycott towards Harper, the publishing company behind the books.

“…I want to ask anyone who was thinking of it, not to boycott Harper’s or anyone. It just doesn’t make sense. Although I wanted and still want more than anything to be able to continue The Vampire Diaries series myself, there’s no point in not trying the new books. (And remember, for fans of Bonnie and Damon, and strict Stefan and Elena fans, the immediate dynamics may be more to your liking.) Besides which, Midnight, which is all mine, is coming out in March, and I believe there may be some of my writing in Phantom.”

Wow…

We know the question most of you are probably asking right now: how can an author be fired from her own book series? According to TVDnews.net, Ms. Smith actually doesn’t own the rights to TVD, Alloy Enterainment does. Smith was hired to write the books back in the early to mid 90s, when they were originally published, and will be replaced by a ghost-writer to complete the series. The reason for the parting of the ways between book company and author? The good old-fashioned monster of creative differences.

SPOILERS FOR THE BOOKS!!!

Turns out that Alloy wants what the fans have called a “Stelena endgame” and not the ending Smith was intending to go with that might have included a “Delena” ending. Could the popularity of the show’s storylines be a factor in Alloy’s decision?

Bottom line, the whole situation is not only sad, but it’s just… odd. L.J. Smith is synonymous with the TVD brand and it was her hard work that made the books what they were today. It will be kind of hard to look forward to later TVD books with another author’s name on them. More on this story as it develops, but until then, what do you guys think?

Thanks again to TVDNews.Net and Vampire Diaries Web!


67 Comments

  1. Lyly Ford February 10, 2011
    • Elena March 21, 2011
      • Hannah April 7, 2011
      • Lauren January 4, 2012
  2. Magster February 10, 2011
  3. angjen0816 February 10, 2011
    • Lyly Ford February 10, 2011
  4. Rivara February 10, 2011
  5. Rivara February 10, 2011
  6. Anonymous February 10, 2011
  7. Anonymous February 11, 2011
    • A BAYLEY March 29, 2011
  8. Monica February 11, 2011
  9. Anonymous February 13, 2011
  10. Anonymous February 12, 2011
  11. Rocio Rodriguez February 14, 2011
  12. Nell79 February 25, 2011
  13. AdiPerk March 1, 2011
  14. Elena March 21, 2011
  15. Apollo March 21, 2011
  16. Apollo March 21, 2011
  17. Michelle March 26, 2011
  18. Christy G March 29, 2011
  19. k s nelson27 April 1, 2011
  20. Jackie April 2, 2011
  21. isabella April 4, 2011
  22. Sandra April 4, 2011
  23. Terri April 5, 2011
  24. Heather April 5, 2011
  25. Ashley April 9, 2011
  26. Ashley April 9, 2011
  27. Amanda April 20, 2011
  28. Crystal May 6, 2011
  29. Crystal May 6, 2011
  30. Jessica May 13, 2011
  31. alexis May 26, 2011
  32. Rina June 3, 2011
  33. Rina June 3, 2011
    • issy :) June 6, 2011
  34. Rina June 3, 2011
  35. issy :) June 6, 2011
  36. issy :) June 6, 2011
  37. Tablekorner July 7, 2011
  38. Tablekorner July 7, 2011
  39. Rina July 7, 2011
  40. Rina July 7, 2011
  41. Rina August 1, 2011
  42. lilly August 2, 2011
  43. Rina August 4, 2011
  44. Moki Hunter August 19, 2011
  45. Pam September 11, 2011
  46. Jennifer September 14, 2011
  47. Rina September 16, 2011
  48. Karen October 15, 2011
  49. Jackiefk October 16, 2011
  50. Amber Ivers October 20, 2011
  51. Amber Ivers October 20, 2011
  52. Miranda November 3, 2011
  53. Natalie November 3, 2011
  54. Kekeo6d November 30, 2011
  55. frost January 10, 2012
  56. delenaluvr January 10, 2012
  57. rainydays :) January 28, 2012
  58. aisha November 3, 2012
  59. Bayley February 5, 2013
  60. HA DUMB February 23, 2013

Add Comment

Why The Fantastic Four Should Do A Live-Action Television Series
Whatever Happened to The Cast of “The Practice?”
Why Josiah Bartlet Was the Best Character on The West Wing
Heels: “House Show” Recap
Five Must-Stream Movies to Watch on Shudder in September 2021
Why You Should Check Out Shane Black’s Film “The Nice Guys”
Five Mortal Kombat Characters Who Deserve A Solo Live-Action Movie
Five Reasons We’ll Be Watching “Nightmare Alley”
Whatever Happened to Michael Stoyanov?
The Surprising Regret Charlie Sheen Has about Hollywood
10 Things You Didn’t Know about Ben Schnetzer
10 Things You Didn’t Know about Hanneke Talbot
Six Comic Book Storylines That Need Their Own Video Games
The 7 Greatest Spider-Man Super Villains of All-Time
Why You Should Read Spy x Family
Five Lesser Known Comic Villains You Should Know About
The Greatest Devil Fruit Powers In the One Piece Universe
Three Villains That We Loved From “One Piece”
Anime You Should Watch: Redline
The Most Iconic Ninjutsus In Naruto
The Destroy All Humans! 2 Remake Looks Killer Fun
Alan Wake Remastered Will Be Coming To Multiple Platforms In October
Ranking Every Fortnite Chapter 1 Level 1 Skin From Worst To Best
The 10 Best Wrestling Video Games Of All Time